Kerry Fetherston Selected as 2013 Don Carlos Humanitarian of the Year

Tempe Community Council (TCC) is pleased to announce that Kerry Fetherston of Tempe will receive the 2013 Don Carlos Humanitarian Award on Wednesday, October 16, 2013. Kerry was selected out of nine impressive nominees for her community impact, behind-the scenes efforts and impressive resume at such a young age.  Additional honors will be presented to local philanthropists and volunteers who work every day to provide a high quality of life for all in Tempe. The public is welcome to attend this community event. Reservations are required and tickets are $50 per person, $80 for two tickets or $400 for a table of ten. More information is available from the TCC website or by calling 480.858.2300.

Produced annually by TCC, the Don Carlos Humanitarian Award is considered one of Tempe’s most prestigious distinctions, and honors those individuals who give back selflessly to our community. Kerry will be recognized for her can-do attitude, her contagious spirit and for inspiring others to commit to positive change. Kerry is past president of Kiwanis Club of Tempe, where she actively supported efforts like the Annual Fourth of July Fireworks Spectacular, back to school shopping with Boys & Girls Club kids and the Fantasy of Lights Parade. For several years, she was the machine behind the Mayor’s Run and helped that event raised about $1.2 million for local charities. Kerry worked for Mill Avenue Merchant’s Association, Tempe Family Y, Fresh Start and Alzheimer’s Association.

Tragically, Kerry suffered a debilitating stroke in December of 2011. Her spirit and positive attitude through her rehabilitation have inspired a whole new group of people, and have reenergized her friends and colleagues to take up her torch. 2007 Don Carlos winner, Linda Spears, notes, “Kerry truly exemplifies all that is great about living in Tempe. An ordinary person, doing extraordinary things by joining with neighbors and friends to make life a little easier for others is the essence of the humanitarian effort”.

Don Carlos is a signature Tempe event that brings together the entire community to celebrate those who have dedicated their lives to giving back and serving people.  The award is named for Tempe’s pioneer founder Charles Trumbull Hayden who spent his life looking for ways to improve the lives of others.  The Don Carlos Humanitarian Award is special because it embodies Hayden’s legacy and spirit.  Kerry Fetherston joins an illustrious list of other Don Carlos Humanitarian recipients including: Dr. William Payne, Leonard Monti, Sr., Margaret & William Kajikawa, Jinnett B. Kirk, Peggy Bryant, Eliza Carney, Naomi Harward, Mimi & Mac Bohlman, Virginia Tinsley, Betty & John Waters, Pat Hatton, Lawn Griffiths, Rudy Campbell, Bobbie & George Overby, Sue & Bob Lofgren, Carol E. Smith, Sue Searcy, Zita Johnson, Bobbie & Don Cassano, David B. Cutty, Joseph Spracale, Jane & Dick Neuheisel, Gail Fisher & Mel Kessler, Linda Spears, Pen Johnson, Sue Ringler, Catherine May & Dan Abbott, Alice & Ralph Goitia and Harry E. Mitchell.

Print Friendly

Speak Your Mind